Welcome to The Hunter's Lair
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How to fix pits in mold surface? HELP!

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Khajaa

Khajaa
First of all, I am a complete novice at this. I made an UltraCal 30 open mold of a cat nose I had sculpted, and I am using it to make prosthetics in latex. This worked well and good until I started making the casts. Apparently, there are pits in my mold, which are seeming to get bigger and bigger with every pull, causing my casts to have tiny bumps on them that are getting bigger every time.

I searched the internet for an HOUR trying to find a suggestion on how to fill these holes, but I kept getting results on "mold" the lifeform and instructions on how to fix molds that are for fiberglass and metal...

I turn to my fellow hunters in desperation - I know there are a lot of sculptors/casters here! Unfortunately, my sculpt was destroyed when I made the mold, so I really would like an alternative to re-sculpting the entire thing over! I thought perhaps using sealer would fix the pits... but that would destroy the mold's porous nature. I really am at a loss here. Would a kind mold release help? If so, what do you suggest? Should I mix up a little UltraCal to brush over the pits and hopefully fill them in?

Please help if you can. I am making this for a commission due in a week and I don't have time to redo the sculpt. :)

MasterAnubis

MasterAnubis